Mike Ling wins Auto Value Super Sprints feature
-Don Deyman, Randy Veldman and Adam Chase also take checkers

Marne, MI – The Auto Value Super Sprints were in town, the weather was cooperative and crowd on hand was treated to a thrilling night of racing.

The Napa Filters Racing VROA Modifieds started the show off with a 25-lap feature; #30 Todd Cowan and #21 Tom Boorsma were on the front row. Boorsma shot off with the lead and the rest of the field raced side by side behind him. The first caution was a result of the side by side racing in the rear of the field; after contact with another car, the #83 of Loren Peterson smacked the wall coming out of turn 4. Boorsma retained the lead after the restart and the field stayed close until the next caution that happened on the frontstretch on lap 9 involving Cowan, #3 Randy Pierson and #4 Don Smith. The field was restarted and after the restart was a change for the lead; #7 Jimmy Lawson was now the leader for the moment. Just four laps later is the #84 of Andrew Bartoszek in front, while the #20 of Don Deyman was flying through the field. He took the lead on lap 18 and was able to lead until the end. Deyman got his second win of the season and the rest of the top ten were Bartoszek, Boorsma, Lawson, #3 Lou Caposey, #43 Terry Byrne, #74 Steve Fuller, #82 Rob Parker, #59 John Evans and #55 Jeff Barsen.

Up next was the 25-lap Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman feature with #11 Tim Stuart and #51 Shawn Simon leading the field to the green flag. The top two were single file while the rest of the field raced two by two behind them. The car on the move was #1 Randy Veldman, he took third on lap 5 and was challenging for the lead on lap 8. That’s when the caution came out. The leader, Stuart, spun while leading. The field was restarted thus the lead was handed to Veldman. After the restart, #15 Scott Root was giving chase, but Veldman was able to pull away from the field. Caution was out again on lap 13, Stuart spun again in turn 2. With the double-file restart, Root was on the front row with Veldman and he used the position to power around Veldman on lap 14. Veldman hung with him, though. The pair raced close and hard for four laps before Veldman was able to get some breathing room. The next exciting battle was for third between #51 Shawn Simon, #20 Tyler Nawrocki and #40 Dave Cutler. While they were sorting it out, the caution came out again on lap 22 when #33 Allen Davis spun in turn 4. With just 2 laps to go on the restart, Veldman and Root were side by side again and with one lap to go, they were beating ad banging at the start-finish line. Veldman took the lead and win, while Root tired to get retribution on the cool down lap. The rest of the top ten were Root, Simon, Cutler, Nawrocki, #26 Brian Thome, #9 Tyler Sterken, #17 Jared Miller, #89 Kirk Meissner and #77 Gerry Shepard.

The Model Coverall Modifieds rolled next with #72 Dan Loughan and #21 Cal Castle on the front row of the 25-lap feature. Before a lap was complete, the caution was out for the #76 of Ryan Gruppen who spun in turn 4. It was Castle who was scored as the leader for the first few laps, but the pace of the race was slowed when Gruppen brought out the caution again on lap 2 when he hit the frontstretch wall. While Castle was leading when the race was restarted, it didn’t take long for the #7 of Ryan Hamm to grab the lead on lap 5; Castle fell back to sixth. The #66 of Adam Chase found himself in the lead on lap 8 and he started to pull away while the battle for second was raging on between Hamm, #22 Billy Shotko and #97 Kevin DeGood. Their battle let Chase pull even farther away from the field. With ten laps to go, Shotko cleared for second, but was not able to catch up to Chase. Chase took the win and the rest of the top ten were Shotko, DeGood, Hamm, #8 Billy Eppink. #68 Randy DeBoer, Loughan, #29 Rob Shoemaker, Castle and #7 Dennis Mann.

The finale was the 30-lap Auto Value Super Sprints feature, #99 Mike Ling and #40 Tim Cox led the field to the stripe. Ling maintained his position and in a matter of minutes, he caught the tail of the field on lap 6. They were setting a blistering pace when the first caution came out on lap 9, the #4 of Cody Hoover spun on the frontstretch. When the race was restarted, it was the #42 of Jason Blonde on the move. He gained three positions in a half of a lap, passed Cox for second on lap 12 and then set his sights on Ling. Blonde was clicking off two tenths of a second with each passing lap, so it was no surprise when he took the lead after making slight contact with Ling on lap 16. Ling took the lead back on lap 17, but Blonde prevailed again on lap 18. Lap 20 saw the second caution of the night for debris. Ten laps to go on the restart, Ling was leading while Blonde was starting at the tail of the field after having to have another push-off. Ling lead from the restart, but the car to watch was Blonde who was tearing through the field. With 4 laps to go, Ling was in heavy traffic, but he made quick work of them and went on to score the win. The rest of the top ten were #7 Joe Swanson, Cox, #61 Kevin Feeney, Blonde, #24 Bill Tyler, #37 Hank Lower, #16 Kyle Feeney, #14C Troy Underwood and #46 Jim Swain.

Join us next Saturday, May 25 for the Memorial Day Spectacular feature the Top Speed Fabrication Modifieds, Engine Pro Super Stocks, Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman, Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders and Napa Filters Racing VROA Modifieds. Tickets are just $10 for adults, $7 for students 12-17, $5 for kids 8-11 and children 7 and under are free; racing starts at 7:00 p.m.

More information on Berlin Raceway’s 63rd season can be found at www.berlinraceway.com

Become a fan of Berlin Raceway on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/wherespeedbelongs

Follow Berlin Raceway on Twitter at: www.twitter.com/BerlinRaceway
























Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Join Berlin Raceway text alerts on RainedOut

Buy Tickets Now! " /> Buy Tickets Now! " />