Meeuwsen, Moody, DeGood, Jewett and Krupp take Anniversary Night checkers

Marne, MI -- Berlin Raceway celebrated its 63rd Anniversary under overcast skies, the ever-popular Australian pursuits were a part of the race program instead of heat races and five divisions took to the track in celebration.

The Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders were up first for a 15-lap feature with #17 Nick Jenema and #2 Ryan Holtzlander on the front row, but it was the #14 of Bill Krupp who rocketed through the field and took the lead on the first lap, without power steering. The #9 of Zach Clark was up to second and the battle for third was heating up between Ryan Holtzlander and #72 Steven Holtzlander; it would be Steven who prevailed. Meanwhile, Krupp had stretched his lead out to 4.5 seconds with 7 laps to go and with just 2 laps to go, he had lapped the field up to fifth place. There was just no catching Krupp on this night, he took the win by 8.975 seconds over Clark and the rest of the top ten were S. Holtzlander, R. Holtzlander, #17 Nick Jenema, #02 Christian Wynbelt, #91 Rob Ream, #19 Robert Bowyer, #35 Mike Mellon and #27 Seth VanHorssen.

It was #48 Seth Moody and #66 Nate Walton on the front row for the 25-lap Engine Pro Super Stock feature and Moody took off with the lead as the field behind him fell in to single-file. Lap 8 saw a battle for fifth between #76 Brian Tillema and #77 Andrew Nylaan. Nylaan took the position and he took fourth from #20J Jeremy Munniksma at the half-way point. Tillema and Nylaan continued to sparring for position as the laps wound down. Moody led from the drop of the green flag until the checkers flew, getting his fourth win of the season. Walton took second and the rest of the top ten were #78 Will Olmsted, Nylaan, Tillema, #44 Brian VanZalen, Munniksma, #67 Ben Welch, #20 Dave Hull and #54 Justin Regnerus.

The Model Coverall Modifieds were up next with #88 Tony Davis and #66 Adam Chase leading the field to the green flag for a 25-lap feature. It took a couple of laps for Chase to clear Davis for the lead and as soon as his line moved, the #22 of Billy Shotko was all over Chase before taking the lead on lap 6. Chase then fell in to the grips of #97 Kevin DeGood who slipped by on lap 10. Shotko had almost a one second lead, but DeGood was chipping away at it lap after lap. With 8 laps to go, DeGood was on Shotko’s bumper, they were side by lap the next time by and DeGood cleared him with the lead with 5 to go. DeGood went on to get the win and the rest of the top ten were Shotko, #8 Billy Eppink, Chase, Davis, #76 Ryan Gruppen, #68 Randy DeBoer, #16 Kris Fewless, #7 Kyle Hamm and #29 Rob Shoemaker.

The Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman rolled next for their 25-lap feature; #40 Dave Cutler and #77 Gerry Shepard led the field to the stripe. Just as Shepard was establishing himself as the leader, the caution was out for a 3-car incident in turn 1 involving #9 Tyler Sterken, #51 Shawn Simon and #17 Jared Miller. Once the field was restarted, it was Cutler with the lead as Shepard got shuffled back to eighth. The #1 of Randy Veldman was all over Cutler and behind them, it was a five-car battle for third between #20 Tyler Nawrocki, #26 Brian Thome, #51 Garison Jewett, #15 Scott Root and #33 Allen Davis and it was only three laps in to the race! The second caution of the race came on lap 3 when #50 Bill Funk spun in turn 1. Veldman grabbed the lead on the restart and Root was making his way through the field and up to second on lap 5. Root pulled side by side with Veldman on lap 8 for the lead and Jewett was looking to make it three-side for the lead. Root did take the lead away from Veldman, but then he had to try to hold off Jewett who was pulling to his inside. Jewett to the lead on lap 13 and the top four ran nose-to-tail. After a few laps, Jewett began to pull away from the field and he would soon be putting cars a lap down. Lap 18 saw the next caution when #11 Tim Stuart spun in turn 4. With the time limit surpassed, the field would be racing to the next flag, be it yellow or checker. Jewett maintained the lead and started to pull away from the field. Root was running in second while Veldman was trying to protect third from Davis. Davis powered around Veldman on the outside with three laps to go. When the checkered flag fell, it was Jewett who got the win and completing the top five were Root, Davis, Veldman, Cutler, Thome, #20 Tyler Nawrocki, #89 Kirk Meissner, Miller and #1219 Matt VanHorssen.

For the Budweiser Super Late Model 75-lap feature, it was #101 Lauren Bush and #23 Chris Koslek on the front row. Koslek grabbed the lead from the drop of the flag and it was the #99 of Ross Meeuwsen riding on his back bumper, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. He did just that on lap 4 when he took the lead and left Koslek to fend of #12 Tim DeVos. The #82 of Tom Thomas was making his way through the field as Meeuwsen was pulling away from the field. Lap 24 saw a change for second when #55 Chris Anthony passed Koslek and just a few laps later, Meeuwsen had caught the tail of the field and began lapping cars. Thomas had made it up to third and was challenging Anthony for second on lap 33. Thomas did make it around Anthony for position and he had just over three seconds to make up to get to Meeuwsen. And just like that, Meeuwsen’s lead was erased when the first caution of the race happened on lap 52 when #37 Jordan Dahlke spun on the backstretch. The restart would put Meeuwsen and Thomas side by side, but Meeuwsen was able to pull away again. With 5 laps to go, Meeuwsen had a second and a half lead over Thomas and since the rest of the race went caution free, Meeuwsen notched his third win of the season. Thomas, Anthony, DeVos, Koslek, #55 Dave Lake, #77 Josh Hobson, #48 Seth Moody, Bush and #$ Jon Beach completed the top ten.

Next Saturday, August 3, is Duck Dynasty Night! Cast members from the hit TV show will be on hand as the Grand Marshalls and will also be doing a pre-race autograph session. Divisions racing include the CRA Super Series, Port City Racecars Outlaw Late Models, Engine Pro Super Stocks, Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman and Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders. Pre-sale tickets are still available at $25 for adults 18+, $15 for students 12-17, $5 for kids 8-11 and children 7-under are free.

Camping is available on site all season long. There are limited spaces for electrical and water so act fast as camping spots are first come, first served.

For more information about this event as well as our weekly racing program please visit our website at

Be sure to become a fan of Berlin Raceway for all of the latest news and contests at:

You can also follow Berlin Raceway on the official Twitter page:

For general questions, please call the Berlin Raceway track office on Tuesday - Friday from 9am - 5pm weekly.








Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Join Berlin Raceway text alerts on RainedOut

Buy Tickets Now! " /> Buy Tickets Now! " />