Brian Tillema and Jared Miller earn first wins
-Meeuwsen and Deyman also victorious-

Marne, MI -- It was Stars and Stripes Night at Berlin Raceway and the fans packed the stands to watch a thrilling night. There was a pair of first-time winners and two racers who were no stranger to victory lane.

The Napa Filters Racing VROA Modifieds were first up with a 25-lap feature; #74 Steve Fuller and #55 Jeff Barsen led the field to the green flag. Fuller led the first few laps before being over taken by Barsen and just behind them was the #1 of Tony Davis. The rest of the field was stacked up behind them two and sometimes three wide. This tight racing caused the first caution of the race on lap 7 when the #2 of Randy Pierson spun between turns 1 and two, the #7 of Jimmy Lawson and #4 of Don Smith were also involved. As the field was coming around to complete the lap, the caution was back out when the #4x of Arnie Snyder spun between turns 3 and 4. The field got would back up and Barsen and Fuller continued to show the way. Just 3 laps later, the caution was back out, this time for Bartoszek who spun on the frontstretch. On the restart, it was Parker who took off with the lead, behind him Barsen was trying to hold off #20 Don Deyman for second. Deyman made the pass and began to reel in Parker; on lap 16 Deyman was the new leader. With 5 to go, #59 John Evans was in second and giving it his all to catch up with Deyman, but there wasn’t enough time to get side by side with him. Deyman took the win and the rest of the top ten were Evans, Bartoszek, Parker, Barsen, #3 Lou Caposey, Fuller, Pierson, #80 Billy Eppink and #83 Loren Peterson.

Up next was the 20-lap Engine Pro Super Stock feature, #77 Andrew Nylaan started on the pole with #76 Brian Tillema on his outside. It was Tillema who took off with the lead as Nylaan got shuffled back to fifth. The battle for second was heating up between #67 Ben Welch and #20J Jeremy Munniskma, behind them #78 Will Olmsted and #66 Nate Walton were racing hard for fourth. The first caution of the race happened on lap 6 when Nylaan spun in turn 4. Tillema continued to lead after the restart and Munniksma was up to second, cutting in to Tillema’s lead. As they were coming to the final flag, Munniksma gave it a shot, but Tillema scored his first win of the season. Munniksma came in second and the rest of the top ten were Welch, Walton, Olmsted, #48 Seth Moody, #21 Tyler Rycenga, #44 Brian VanZalen, #20 Dave Hull and Nylaan.

The Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman rolled next with #84 Steve Thompson and #17 Jared Miller on the front row of the 25-lap feature. Thompson had the early lead, but he did that the #1 of Randy Veldman right on his back bumper. Veldman took the lead on lap 7 and he was immediately challenged by Miller on the inside. Miller took the lead on lap 10 and that left Veldman to try and hold off #26 Brian Thome for second. Thome was under fire from #40 Dave Cutler and #77 Gerry Shepard, they both got by him and Veldman was inching closer to Miller. With Cutler challenging Veldman for second, Miller was able to get some breathing room. Miller went on to get his first-ever win and the rest of the top ten were Veldman, Cutler, Shepard, Thome, #89 Kirk Meissner, #20 Tyler Nawrocki, #15 Scott Root, #51 Shawn Simon and Thompson.

The Port City Racecars Outlaw Late Models were the final feature of the night for the 60-lap 2nd Annual Lee Anderson Memorial. The #32 of Ross Meeuwsen and #8 Phil Bozell started on the front row. Before they could get down to racing, the caution came out when the #40 of Jamison Russell spun off of the backstretch on lap 1. After the field was restarted, Meeuwsen took off with the lead and pulled away from the field. Bozell and #10 Johnny Benson were battling for third and it was #21 Terry VanHaitsma, #14 Steve Needles and #24 Lee VanDyk mixing it up for fourth. While Benson was passing Bozell for second, Meeuwsen was caught the tail of the field and began putting cars a lap down. Benson was slowing reeling Meeuwsen in as they were heading in to heavy traffic again. The second caution of the race came out on lap 29 when #33 Monte Tolan spun coming in to turn 4. This erased Meeuwsen’s lead, but it didn’t take him long to stretch it out again once the field was restarted. The leaders were back in traffic with 15 laps to go. On lap 54, VanHaitsma had caught Benson and he was looking second, but Benson was holding strong on the inside lane. Meeuwsen came down to take the checkered flag, it would be a tight battle for second with Benson, VanHaitsma and Thomas will the lapped car of #83 Andy Bozell in the mix. With Meeuwsen on his way to victory lane, Benson took second and the rest of the top ten were VanHaitsma, #82 Tom Thomas, #14 Steve Needles, Phil Bozell, #28 Scott Thomas, #15 Brian Maxim, #5 Ray Clay and #11 Leroy Magoon.

A spectacular fireworks show capped off the evening.

Next Saturday, July 13 is Ladies Night! The Budweiser Super Late Models will be in action along with the Engine Pro Super Stocks, Model Coverall Modifieds, Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders and Napa Filters Racing VROA Modifieds. Tickets are $12 for adults 18+, $8 for students 12-17, $5 for kids 8-11 and children 7 and under are free. Ladies will receive free admission all night long and there are many promotions planned; the first race will begin at 7:00 p.m.

Camping is available on site all season long. There are limited spaces for electrical and water so act fast as camping spots are first come, first served.

For more information about this event as well as our weekly racing program please visit our website at

Be sure to become a fan of Berlin Raceway for all of the latest news and contests at:

You can also follow Berlin Raceway on the official Twitter page:

For general questions, please call the Berlin Raceway track office on Tuesday - Friday from 9am - 5pm weekly.













Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Join Berlin Raceway text alerts on RainedOut

Buy Tickets Now! " /> Buy Tickets Now! " />