Jacob Wilson victorious in Must See Xtreme Sprint Series
-Seth VanHorssen, Seth Moody and Allen Davis also win-

Marne, MI – The Must See Xtreme Sprint Series rolled back in to town for the find sprint show of the asphalt season and they never fail to put on an amazing show. It was Jacob Wilson taking the checkers and he was joined in Victory Lane with Seth VanHorssen (Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinder), Seth Moody (Engine Pro Super Stock) and Allen Davis (Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman).

The Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders’ 15-lap feature was up first with #27 Rikki VanHorssen and #19 Robert Bowyer leading the field to the green flag, but it was #91 Rob Ream who would lead the first lap. The car on the move was the #14 of Bill Krupp. He started last and made the pass for the lead on lap 4. The first caution came out on lap 7 for debris. Once the race was back to green, Krupp took off again with the lead. The battle for second was heating up with Ream, #17 Seth VanHorssen and #18 Charlie DeJong. VanHorssen took the position and had the feat of chasing down Krupp. There just weren’t enough laps left and Krupp got the win, but after post-race tech, Krupp was disqualified and the win was awarded to VanHorssen. DeJong, Ream, #10 Dave Duyst, #72 Steven Holtzlander, #2 Ryan Holtzlander, #75 Dan Ream, #19 Robert Bowyer and #64 Steven Peterson completed the top spots.

It was #20J Jeremy Munniksma and #48 Seth Moody on the front row for the 25-lap Engine Pro Super Stock feature and they stayed side by side for the first lap until Moody was able to gain an advantage on Munniksma. Munniksma wasn’t letting Moody get too far away and just behind them, #78 Will Olmsted and #76 Brian Tillema were fighting for third. Tillema was able to get around Moody and he started to reel in the leaders. With the race going caution free, Tillema wasn’t able to get up to them. Moody went on to Victory Lane and the rest of the top ten were Munniksma, Tillema, Olmsted, #66 Nate Walton, #77 Andrew Nylaan, #76 Warren Speet, #44 Brian VanZalen, #67 Ben Welch, #31 Brett DeKraker.

The Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman were up next, #9 Tyler Sterken started on the pole with #89 Kirk Meissner on his outside for a 25-lap feature. Meissner grabbed the lead and it was #40 Dave Cutler all over Meissner’s bumper. Lap 3 saw the first caution of the night when #50 Bill Funk spun in turn 1. Once the race got restarted, it was Cutler showing the way as Meissner lost a position to #1 Randy Veldman. There was a 4-car battle for fourth with Sterken, #33 Allen Davis, #11 Tim Stuart and #26 Brian Thome. Both Davis and Stuart broke away from the pack and as they were racing on the backstretch, Stuart spun colleting #51 Garison Jewett on lap 9. It was Veldman taking the lead away from Cutler on the restart and Meissner was under attack from Davis for third. Cutler was all over Veldman for the lead and on lap 15, he made the pass and then the caution came out on lap 15 for the #6 of Terry Bockheim spinning in turn 1. The restart was exciting with Cutler getting shuffled back to fourth and Veldman was back to the lead with Davis in second. Lap 17 saw the next caution; #9 Tyler Sterken took a hard hit and the #26 Brian Thome and #57 Greg Jewett were also collected in turn 1. After a red flag for clean up, the race was restarted and Veldman and Davis were running side by side for the lead and they were being chased by Meissner, Cutler and #15 Scott Root. Davis took the lead on lap 19, but Veldman was all over his bumper. Davis was able to hold him off to get his first win of the season. Veldman came in second and the rest of the top ten were Root, Cutler, Meissner, #77 Gerry Shepard, #51 Shawn Simon, Stuart, #20 Tyler Nawrocki and #57 Greg Jewett.

The final race of the night was the Must See Xtreme Sprints 30-lap feature; #7 Jojo Helberg and #40 Troy DeCaire would led the field to the stripe. It was only a matter of 5 laps before Helberg was in traffic and lapping cars, but DeCaire was able to hang with him. Helberg encountered trouble on lap 16, he slowed and went to the pits giving the lead to DeCaire. The race was restarted and it was #07 Jacob Wilson giving chase to DeCaire. With the laps winding down, Wilson made his final run at DeCaire and made the pass. Wilson took the win by .399 seconds and the rest of the top ten were DeCaire, #50 Brian Gerster, #88 Jimmy McCune, #07 Ryan Litt, #29 Aaron Pierce, #71 Brian Olson, #26 Jeff Bloom, #50 Mark Larison and #60 DJ Hamilton.

Join us next weekend as the asphalt season wraps up with the Chet Championship Weekend. Friday, August 30 will feature the Napa Filers Racing VROA Modifieds along with the final point races for the Burnips Equipment 4-Cylinders and Enterprise Iron & Metal Sportsman. We are back in action on Saturday for the final point races for the Model Coverall Modifieds, Engine Pro Super Stocks, the Budweiser Super Late Models and the Port City Racecars Outlaw Late Models. Tickets for Friday are $12 for adults 18+, $8 for students 12-17, $5 for kids 8-11 and children 7 and under are free. Tickets for Saturday are $15 for adults 18+, $9 for students 12-17, $5 for kids 8-11 and children 7 and under are free. 2-day packages are available by visiting www.berlinraceway.com. Racing will begin at 7:00 p.m. on both nights.

Camping is available on site all season long. There are limited spaces for electrical and water so act fast as camping spots are first come, first served.

For more information about this event as well as our weekly racing program please visit our website at www.berlinraceway.com

Be sure to become a fan of Berlin Raceway for all of the latest news and contests at: www.facebook.com/wherespeedbelongs

You can also follow Berlin Raceway on the official Twitter page: www.twitter.com/berlinraceway

For general questions, please call the Berlin Raceway track office on Tuesday - Friday from 9am - 5pm weekly.






Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Join Berlin Raceway text alerts on RainedOut

Buy Tickets Now! " /> Buy Tickets Now! " />